top of page

REVIEW: MAGGIE MOVES ON

"Kinship, Idaho. That's where the fuck we are."

Maggie Moves On is HGTV meets History Channel in this fun romantic comedy set against an idyllic small town Idaho backdrop. Quirky townspeople? Check. Meddling family members? Double check. Lots of steam and chemistry? Triple check.


I absolutely adored this book! This was my first book by Lucy Score, but it certainly won't be my last. I was immediately drawn into the story and the amazing cast of characters had me genuinely invested in every character's story arcs. While the book is longer than most romcoms, I honestly don't think I would take anything out. It was just so well done! I loved the comedy of Kevin the dog and the two kittens and I found myself cackling at any scene they entered.


YouTube superstar Maggie Nichols was such a badass heroine. She has a clear vision for everything but her life, yet keeps most people at arms length. I loved the banter and dynamic between Maggie and her business partner, Dean, which added heart and comedy. Quick witted (sometimes to a fault), Maggie is all about research and numbers, which I loved about her. She has a huge sense of responsibility and duty to not let people down, which causes her to carry the weight of the world on her shoulders. I appreciated how the grief from her mother's death was portrayed, showing that even though a significant amount of time has past, there is no time limit on the grieving process.


Handsome landscaper Silas was so over the top, but it just made me love him more. Falling fast for Maggie, I loved how he constantly wore her down, yet knew exactly what she needed in times of crisis. Silas is such a ray of sunshine, but calls Maggie on her shit. I loved his romantic heart and how he believed everything was a sign. He was the perfect match for Maggie's analytical mind.


My favorite part of the book was the element of found family, not only with townspeople, but also between Maggie, Dean, and Cody. I loved seeing how Dean and Maggie took the troubled teen in without questions and the bond the three formed had me in tears at the end. This particular dynamic is not something you see very often, so it was an amazing addition to the book.


It's no surprise that I loved the history element thrown in with the Campbell residence mixed with the mystery of the hidden treasure. Even though the Campbells are long gone, they were very much a part of the story throughout. The ever grumpy Wallace had to be one of my favorite characters in the book. I loved how persnickety he was in the beginning with Maggie, but slowly warmed to her enough to be the voice of reason when she needed it most.


Maggie Move On is a workplace romantic comedy, with a side of forced proximity and one-sided insta-love. It celebrates inclusion and all love, even in a small town.


Thanks to Forever Publishing for the gifted book! Maggie Moves On publishes June 21.



bottom of page