top of page

REVIEW: First Comes Like

For all the girls who are "too much." (Actually, we’re just right)

I first found author @alisharaiwrites last year. I was wandering aimlessly through the aisles of Target, as one usually does, and picked up a super cute book called, The Right Swipe. I decided to buy it, because I immediately fell in love with the blurb. Not only was it a romance, it featured a strong female lead and the cast of characters is diverse. I read it, I loved it and began reading all the other books I could get my hands on that Rai has written.


Fast forward a year later, and the final book in this Modern Love series is almost ready to come out. First Comes Like is Jia's story. While it's a standalone, you will have a deeper appreciation of the book if you read The Right Swipe and Girl Gone Viral first.


First Comes Like is the story of social media influencer Jia, who has a clear path in life, but at times, lacks confidence to go after what she truly wants. One year earlier, beloved Indian actor Dev slides into her DMs and the two strike up a budding friendship. Trouble is, it's not actually Dev communicating with Jia. In this catfish gone wrong, Jia shows up at an industry party to find out Dev has zero clue who she is. Jia completely writes Dev off, but after a paparazzi photo forces the pair to fake date, they both soon realize there might be more to their relationship than meets the eye.


I absolutely loved everything about this book, other than the fact that it had to end. The characters are unique, diverse, wholesome and unapollegtically themselves. I found myself becoming fully invested in their relationships and was rooting for Dev and Jia until the end.


While Jia was a breath of fresh air, it was Dev's character who I loved the most. He has such strong convictions about what he wants in life and who he will allow past his walls. He cares deeply about honoring his family. Dev screams sex appeal, but not in the traditional sense. He respects Jia, lets her call the shots and through this, helps her find the confidence she ultimately needs.


This is not your typical love story and that drew me in immediately. There is something so refreshing and appealing about the originality of Rai's story. I also appreciated the insight into the Indian and Pakistani culture and how they handle relationships and marriages. Family traditions and expectations were carefully intertwined into the story.


I loved the first two books in this series and First Comes Like does not disappoint. A huge thanks to @alisharaiwrites@netgalley and @avonbooks for an advanced copy in exchange for my honest opinion. First Comes Like comes out February 16!


4/5 stars


bottom of page