top of page

REVIEW: EVERYTHING FOR YOU

“Gavin matters to me, not the soccer legend or the sullen captain of my team, but the man. The man who makes my niece guacamole and colors with her. The man who holds me when I’m panicking, who believes in me when I have belief enough for everyone but too little for myself, who sees through every happy-go-lucky layer of my bullshit straight to the heart of my own aching fears and wants.”

For anyone that knows me, they know I am heavily invested in the Bergman family series. This is easily one of my favorite series and I have been (impatiently) waiting for Oliver's book since the release of With You Forever. The next installment, Everything For You, completely lived up to the hype and delivered everything I wanted and so much more for Oliver and Gavin's story. This book is simply utter perfection.


I was so happy being back in the world of the Bergmans and thought it was extremely clever how the timeline of the story was moved forward and we got to glimpse the other couples from previous books. Seeing where all the couples are now further cements my adoring love for this family. And having the next generation of Bergmans show up was the treat I didn't know I needed. I loved Linnie's character with all my heart and she added comedic timing and witty one-liners in tense moments.


Oliver's character is a ray of sunshine. Speaking in Broadway show tunes, he treats everyone with kindness and respect. But despite his cheery disposition, internally, he's struggling. Ever a people pleaser, Oliver doesn't want to let anyone down, especially his teammates and family. This puts the weight of the world on his shoulders and the anxiety, at times, could be crippling. Oliver is the poster boy enneagram 2w3 and I related to his struggles deeply. He is such a sweet, sensitive soul and I loved Oliver's character so much.


If ever there was the epitome of Roy Kent in fictional form, Gavin is it! His grumpiness and serious nature won me over, and after reading all he's been through in life, it makes sense why he pushes people away and guards his heart closely. At this point in his career, Gavin is living a high stakes game, where chronic pain plagues his every day existence. Because Oliver represents everything Gavin feels he's losing, Gavin pushes him away, rather than risk his heart. Yet Oliver is just the person that can allow Gavin to be vulnerable and finally embrace his true self.


Everything For You is the way romance should be written. The layers of forced proximity between Oliver and Gavin - teammates, co-captains, next door neighbors, and obviously, only one bed - made way for a slow burn, tender MM romance with sparks flying throughout. The pining and sexual tension between the two is on fire. I loved watched the pair try and fight their obvious attraction to each other. And the age gap trope was done so well. I absolutely devoured the last 25% of the book. It is so tender and beautiful and shows what true love should be. I didn't want this book to end.


This book is not just steam and angst. It is hilariously laden with pranks and Broadway show tunes, plus professional soccer thrown into the mix. There are so many side characters that steal the show, but the poker boys were magic. I loved the friendship they had with Gavin and how the made him embrace his fears and go for what he truly wanted.


Please be prepared to read Chapter 27. You will need a box of tissues, guaranteed. The nods to the first book, from the chapter song choice to the emotional talk between Willa and Oliver broke my heart and then put it back together again.


The magic (and curse) of getting another installment in this series is the anticipation for the next book to come. I seriously cannot wait for Viggo's story. It has to be a special someone that ropes down that hopeless romantic, but can put up with his endless pranks.


Everything For You publishes May 10. A huge thanks to Chloe Liese for allowing me to read your work early. Your books are the reason I read and I am forever thankful you created this magical world that I can escape into and feel seen. I am anxiously awaiting for my pre-order to arrive today! I can't wait to hold this book in my hands.


bottom of page